Where It All Began

SC claims he knew I’d be his wife the moment we met. How? We didn’t even shake hands because he was sick. Perhaps it was the DayQuil talking?

Back in September, SC was a new addition to the sketch comedy troupe I’m in. From the moment we met I was fascinated by him and it wasn’t just because he’s nice to look at. I wanted to get to know him. It might have something to do with that whole Gemini/Aquarius connection.

Upon his arrival to the first couple weeks of rehearsals I greeted him every night with a friendly, “Hey, SC.” To which he replied with an unusually loud and shrill, “Hello,” as he raced by. He never even looked at me. I don’t recall interacting with him after that aside from the few times we were the last two outside during a smoke break.

In February, we were in another show together. There was a sketch where his character pinned me up against a wall and humped me for all of 20 seconds. No big, except he blushed every time. He also began missing his cue to let go of me and I had to resort to giving him a gentle push when our cue came.

Next thing you know, he’s backstage smelling the “delicious” hand lotion I just put on, making jokes, and laughing a little too hard at my jokes.

There’s always a celebration on closing night, but I wasn’t going. I was training for a half marathon that was a month away and sticking to my sleep/workout routine was most important. He begged me to come out with them, puppy dog eyes and all. I declined, but suggested that meant we should hang out outside of the troupe, thinking he just wanted to be friends.

We exchanged numbers and once he started texting, he texted daily. I knew I liked him when I stayed up till midnight in conversation. He kept asking me to hang out, I continued to decline until the night before the half marathon, I got in a car accident. I was t-boned, but I was able to walk away from it in one piece, just sore.

After three weeks holed up working from home, I was bored and my body hurt. I needed to go out. He texted me early on a Saturday to ask me to join him at any point in the day for pho at our favorite new pho spot. I scheduled it for dinner since I was going to see his show that night. I didn’t realize it was a date until he gave me “that” look and later paid for dinner. I went out with them after the show the following night and he pulled me aside and told me he loved me. I didn’t know what to say so I turned back to my conversation and left him standing there with his arm around my waist. He later took me by the hand and brought me to my car. When he kissed my hand goodnight, I was sold.

The following week he brushed off my invitation to hang out that weekend. I was fine with that. After being single for three years and having plenty of guys to hang out with, I let it go. He asked me Saturday to drive him to his car. He’d blown out two tires that morning and left the vehicle in my area. We hung out for hours waiting for the new tires, went grocery shopping and had some dinner and drinks at my place. All I wanted was for him to hold my hand. It didn’t happen. He slept on the couch.

The following day he asked to come over and said he thought there was mutual attraction between us. I agreed and that was that. He’s slept here every night since. That was back in April, but it feels like a lifetime ago.

That’s how we ended up here. I’m an Aquarius and he’s a Gemini. We’re both known as being cold and flighty in relationships. Is it totally true? Every Gemini I know who has met his Aquarius had one date and they’ve been together ever since. Take my bro, a previously noncommittal Gemini. He and his Aquarius partner had one date seven years ago…

Leave a Reply

